Skip to Content

A Look at the Durbridge and Hill Smith Stakes

The Listed Hill Smith Stakes

Four interstate visitors are set to contest Saturday's Listed Hill Smith Stakes with runners from the Darren Weir, Robert Smerdon and Robbie Laing stables accepting. A field of nine is likely to line up on Saturday after Tony McEvoy's Box on Collins elected to run yesterday at Gawler where the colt ran second behind Silent Warrior

Leon Macdonald and Andrew Gluyas have won the past two editions of the Hill Smith with Beluga Blue and Pretty Punk and they will saddle up Glam Guru in Saturday's feature. Glam Guru is the only horse in the field to have recorded multiple wins, both with Clare Lindop on board who will partner the filly again on Saturday.

My Three Sons defeated Rockarral last start who bolted in yesterday at Gawler, while Itz A Bullet ran second behind Angelucci last start, who also won again yesterday at Gawler franking that good form. 

Six of the starters in the Hill Smith Stakes have Group 1's on their radars with All Come True, Glam Guru and Princess Titanic nominated for the Oaks while American Sunday, Pissaro, and Savaheat have Derby aspirations but a win on Saturday would be integral for these runners to push on with these goals. 

Five of the last six winners of the Hill Smith have run in the top two in their last start and My Three Sons, Pissaro, Tropical Lightning and Itz A Bullett have all come off similar form lines to past winners.  

Previous Winners of the Listed Hill Smith Stakes

Year Winner Previous Race Starting Price Favourite
2016 Pretty Punk 1st Morphettville Maiden 1400m $8.10 Second
2015 Beluga Blue 2nd Morphettville BM70 1550m $6.10 Second
2014 Lotion 10th Caulfield HCP 1700m $4.50 Unplaced
2013 Storm Approach 2nd Sale BM64 1416m $4.90 Second
2012 Hioctdane 1st Gawler Maiden 1700m $22.60 Unplaced
2011 Perfect Punch 1st Morphettville HCP 1600m $1.85F Winner

UBET Hill Smith Stakes Market

Glam Guru - $3.80

All Come True - $5.50

Pissaro - $6

American Sunday - $6.50

Savaheat, Box on Collins - $7.50

Others - $10+

The Listed Durbridge Stakes

Runners will be hoping to emulate the success of Hucklebuck in 2014 when the Phillip Stokes trained gelding took out the Durbridge Stakes on route to winning the Group 3 Yellowglen Stakes and Group 1 Emirates Stakes.

Will Clarken will be looking to go back to back in the Wylie with his galloper Mio Dio who won the Group 3 Spring Stakes in August before running fifth in the Penny Edition and ninth in The Sofitel at Flemington.

The Shayne Cahill trained Desert Lashes looks like she will head to Melbourne to contest the Group 3 Northwood Plume on Saturday but will be a big player if she decides to stay home in Adelaide. 

Desert Lashes ran second in the Listed Wylie a fortnight ago at Morphettville behind the fast finishing Lope De Capio. Royal Rumble is the other runner to come out of the Wylie while Casino Wizard, Lord Aspen and Mio Dio have also come off runs in Listed races. Those three all step back in distance on Saturday from their last runs which suits all three who have great records over the 1200m.     

Favourites have had a good record in recent history in the Durbridge with three of the past five favourites saluting including Group 1 winners Flamberge and Hucklebuck.

Previous Winners of the Listed Durbridge Stakes

Year Winner Previous Run Starting Price Favourite
2016 Cavaloce 12th Listed Balaklava Cup 1300m $15.70 Unplaced
2015 Flamberge 6th Group 1 Moir Stakes Moonee Valley 1000m $1.30F Winner
2014 Hucklebuck 6th Group 1 Stradboke HCP Eagle Farm 1400m  $2.00F Winner
2013 Golden Penny 11th Listed Balaklava Cup 1600m $16.40 Third
2012 Classy Chloe 15th Listed Sprint Series Final Caulfield 1200m $2.10F Winner

UBET Durbridge Stakes Market

Desert Lashes - $2.80

Lord Aspen - $4

Casino Wizard - $4.80

Mio Dio - $5

Lope De Capio - $6

Others - $21+

Post categories

Racing SA - Racing Racing SA - Homepage