Skip to Content

Pannell, McEvoys and KI take spotlight at Thoroughbred Racing awards

Top jockey Todd Pannell, the McEvoy stable and the Kangaroo Island Racing Club were among those honoured at the 2020 South Australian Thoroughbred Racing Industry Awards. 

In a COVID-19-enforced departure from tradition, the awards took place online, via Thoroughbred Racing South Australia’s (TRSA) social media pages.

Capping a brilliant season, Todd was named the SA Jockey of the Year and also won three other awards, including the SA Metropolitan Jockey of the Year award and the prestigious John Letts Medal, which recognises excellence in riding and outstanding achievements by a jockey at all race meetings across the season. 

“Winning the premiership this year has been a big, big thrill,” Todd says. 

“It means everything, especially to do it back home in Adelaide – I’ve been back here for the last 10 years. 

“It’s definitely good to go one up from last year.” 

Fellow jockey Kayla Crowther, who outrode her apprentice claim during the 2019/20 season, won two awards. 

Father-and-son training combination Tony and Calvin McEvoy have also captured multiple awards, taking out the CS Hayes Award for SA Trainer of the Year, plus the SA metropolitan, SA provincial and overall SA Trainer of the Year awards. 

“Winning the SA Metropolitan Trainers Premiership is, for me, really important,” Tony says. 

“This is the fifth time I’ve won it, first time with Calv on board, which has been quite special.” 

Tony and Calvin said Brown Ben’s victory in the 2019 Balaklava Cup was particularly special, as it was their first stakes winner together. 

Kangaroo Island Racing Club’s extraordinary 2020 continues, with the club winning the Most Outstanding Achievement (Club) award. 

Large sections of Kangaroo Island were devastated by bushfire early this year, however the club still managed to stage its annual carnival in February, culminating in the KI Cup meeting. All profits from the club’s race days were donated to the Kangaroo Island Mayoral Relief and Recovery Fund. 

The final award was the keenly contested Champion Horse of the Year category, was taken out by trainer Gordon Richards’ Gytrash, who will race in the $15 million The Everest in Sydney in October. 

Award Winners: 

Post categories

Racing SA - Racing Racing SA - Media Release Racing SA - Stories Racing SA - Latest News