Skip to Content

2016 Industry Awards

2016 Industry Awards


In a unique twist, champion jockeys Jamie Kah and Jason Holder were named joint winners of the highly coveted John Letts Medal at this year’s Thoroughbred Racing SA Industry Awards – with both being past winners of the award.

Held at Morphettville Racecourse, a total of 18 awards were handed out to the State’s top jockeys, apprentices, trainers and horses – both past and present – on Saturday 3 September.

The John Letts Medal is reserved for the jockey, or jockeys, who receive the most votes by the stewards officiating on each race day, with votes given on a 3-2-1 basis at Metropolitan meetings, 2-1 at Provincial meets, and 1 vote at Country venues.

In addition to the prestigious John Letts Medal, after riding 107 winners all over the State last season, Jamie also took home the 2015/16 South Australian Jockey of the Year and UBET 2015/16 South Australian Provincial and Country Jockey of the Year awards.

Jason received multiple accolades too, including the Glennon-Johnson Award for 2015/16 South Australian Metropolitan Jockey of the Year with his 53 Metropolitan wins. It was a close call between Jason and fellow jockey Matthew Neilson, with the result resting on the final race day of the season.

Apprentice jockey Caitlin Jones also enjoyed a strong season, finishing third in the Metropolitan jockey premiership with 35 wins. She was named UBET 2015/16 South Australian Metropolitan Apprentice Jockey of the Year.

For the third time in as many years, trainer Phillip Stokes took home the CS Hayes Award for 2015/16 South Australian Trainer of the Year and the 2015/16 South Australian Metropolitan Trainer of the Year award. Phillip certainly had a lot to celebrate – training 67 winners last season, with 50 of them being Metropolitan.

After almostcausing an upset at the Adelaide Cup when he ran second behind Purple Smile, and with four wins and eight placings in South Australia last season, Tunes was named the 2015/16 South Australian Most Consistent Racehorse.

Other highlights of the evening included:

  • Strong performer Emily Finnegan won multiple awards, including the Caitlin Forrest South Australian Provincial and Country Apprentice Jockey of the Year and the Leon Macdonald Award for 2015/16 South Australian Apprentice of the Year.
  • Eclair Choice was named Festival Hire 2015/16 South Australian Champion Racehorse of the Year
  • The E.J. Mooney Medal for 2015/16 South Australian Jumps Jockey of the Year went to Paul Hamblin, while Eric Musgrove took out 2015/16 South Australian Jumps Trainer of the Year.
  • The accolade for Best Racing Story was awarded to Ben Scadden from The Advertiser while Best Racing Picturewent to local photographer Jenny Barnes.

Another two icons of the South Australian thoroughbred racing industry – legendary jockey Mick Goreham and champion racehorse Durbridge – were inducted into the South Australian Racing Hall of Fame on the night.

Mick rode more than 2000 winners during his illustrious career. Twenty of those were in Group 1 races, including the 1968 Australian Cup on Arctic Coast, two Adelaide Cups with Tavel in 1973 and Hyperno in 1978, and the 1980 VRC Derby on Sovereign Red. He also won the South Australian Jockeys Premiership on four occasions, the first in 1967/68 as an apprentice to Bart Cummings.

Durbridge was originally trained by Brian Murphy before being transferred to Lee Freedman’s stables. An underrated galloper, Durbridge won 15 races at Group level over various distances, including the 1991 AJC Derby, 1993 Orr Stakes and the 1994 Australian Cup.

“The annual Industry Awards are an opportunity to recognise some of South Australia’s current racing greats, as well as the future stars of our industry,” Thoroughbred Racing SA Chief Executive Jim Watters said. 

“It’s fantastic to see everyone from champion jockeys and seasoned trainers, to up and coming apprentices and thoroughbred racing fans, come together to honour the season’s top performers and our Hall of Fame inductees.

“As former winners of the John Letts Medal, Jamie and Jason are clearly forces to be reckoned with on track and we look forward to seeing where next season will take them.”

Click here for a full list of winners

Click here to view a gallery of photo from the night